Finish Up Spring Knitting…

Spring in Central Park

As I mentioned in a previous post, during August I will complete a few WIPs.  Obviously I was diverted by my Crocheting Adventure (Confession: I am still on the adventure and working on a 3rd Owl Hat).  Before the crochet rabbit hole appeared, I finished my Spring in Central Park shawl by Michelle Miller (Fickleknitter).

Spring in Central Park by Michelle Miller (Fickleknitter)

Spring in Central Park by Michelle Miller (Fickleknitter)

During a Baah Trunk Show at Abuelita’s, I saw the Spring in Central Park shawl knit in pink tones.  I really liked it and it looked fun.  Because I live in Southern California, fingering weight yarns work in our climate – heavier yarns not so much.  I chose a variegated skein named “Peacock” (Poetic Justice…) and then a navy and a blue green to complete the look.  The navy is a bit darker than the dark blue in the Peacock skein – the photo below shows the contrast with the navy.  But it still looks lovely.

3 different Lace Patterns

3 different Lace Patterns

I loved knitting with the Baah yarn; it is soft but holds the lace pattern well.  It blocks beautifully and I think I will enjoy wearing this shawl.  Many of the shawls I knit are fairly small – more like scarves.  This one is substantial but not too big.  Now what to wear with it?

Wrapped around for a different look

Wrapped around for a different look

Observations on the pattern and knitting:

  • The colors glow in this beautiful shawl.  Photos really don’t show how rich the Baah Yarns are.
  • The Baah yarn is fabulous to knit with and I will definitely knit with this again.  Baah is dyed in Southern California so I am not sure how available it is around the country.
  • Stitch markers don’t work with this pattern as the markers would need to shift frequently.  This did slow me down, and because stitch markers help me avoid mistakes, I made more mistakes than normal with this pattern.  La Jolla is very forgiving so I was able to drop stitches down to fix mistakes rather than rip out sections.
  • As is common with some crescent shawls, I definitely had a hump in the middle of the lace.  I aggressively blocked the shawl and for the most part the hump blended in.  In the photos below, you can see how blocking made a big difference.  I still need to fold a bit of the hump down to have the shawl fit around my shoulders, but I can live with it.
Unblocked Lace - notice the hump

Unblocked Lace – notice the hump

 

Shawl being blocked on wires

Shawl being blocked on wires

This entry was posted in knitting, lace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.